Setting the standard

Mergers & Acquisitions’ M&A Mid-Market Awards honor leading dealmakers and deals that set the standard for transactions in the middle market. To determine the winners, we consider a variety of factors, including market leadership, performance, growth, innovation and thought leadership. We look for companies and individuals who overcame the challenges the year brought, embodied the trends of the period and took their businesses to the next level. We value companies that changed the M&A landscape, expanded into new territories and transformed their businesses.

Eligibility and nomination process

To be eligible for our awards, deals must: be valued at or below roughly $1 billion and have been completed (not just announced) by Dec. 31 of the award year. Nominations are encouraged, although not required. The nomination process is online, and we accept submissions only through our electronic forms. We announce the opening of the nomination process on our website and through our daily e-newsletters in late December or early January. The deadline for nominations is typically in late January or early February. There is no fee, and there is no limit on the number of nominations submitted by a firm or individual.

Deal of the Year

2019: Piper Jaffray
2018: Fortive: (Gordian)
2017: Stryker (Novadaq)
2016: Resmed (Brightree)
2015: Amazon (Elemental Technologies)

Dealmaker of the Year

2019: Robert F. Smith
2018: Hollie Haynes, Luminate Capital Partners
2017: Randy Jacops, Idera
2016: Greg Sandfort, Tractor Supply
2015: David Brackett, John Martin, Anatares

Private Equity Firm of the Year

2019: Audax
2018: TA Associates
2017: LLR Partners
2016: Francisco Partners
2015: Audax

Private Equity Seller of the Year:

2019: Sumeru
2018: The Riverside Co.
2017: Huron Capital
2016: The Halifax Group
2015: The Riverside Co.

Strategic Buyer of the Year

2019: ACI Worldwide
2018: Nike
2017: Campbell Soup
2016: Dover
2015: Newell Rubbermaid

Investment Bank of the Year

2019: Stifel
2018: Harris Williams
2017: William Blair
2016: Harris Williams
2015: KeyBanc

Lender of the Year

2019: Twin Brook
2018: Monroe Capital
2017: Twin Brook
2016: Golub
2015: NewStar

Law Firm of the Year

2019: Kirkland & Ellis
2018: Goodwin
2017: McGuireWoods
2016: Kirkland & Ellis
2015: Milbank